



The Council of Michigan Foundations (CMF) is one of the four partner organizations of *Our State of Generosity*, and played a central role in the creation of each of the other partners. CMF is significant – not only within Michigan, but also nationally – as one of the first statewide regional associations of grantmakers in the country, and it continues to be one of the largest. The creation of the Council of Michigan Foundations was a complex undertaking with multiple stages of development. *Our State of Generosity* has outlined, in chronological order, the major (and pivotal) changes in the text that follows:

- 1968: A "Conference **for** Michigan Foundations" was convened by William Baldwin of the Kresge Foundation on the campus of Oakland University.
 - Note: This conference set an important precedent for the later Conference **of** Michigan Foundations, but was not a direct ancestor of it.
- 1969: The Tax Reform Act of 1969 was passed, which increased the required payout for private foundations, as well as limited "excess business holdings." The Tax Reform Act limited the amount of stock in a for-profit company that private foundations could own to 20% or less. These regulations, along with others, were harmful to many private foundations in Michigan, including the W.K. Kellogg Foundation.
- 1971: Russell Mawby, who became the president and CEO of the Kellogg Foundation in 1970, began convening with other foundation leaders in Michigan, such as William Baldwin of the Kresge Foundation, to discuss these regulations and to consider a more formal and inclusive gathering [Interview with Russell Mawby].
- 1972: A formal committee was created for the Conference for Michigan Foundations, including representatives of independent and family foundations, community foundations, and corporate foundations. This committee included: [Committee members listed from 1973 Conference Program].
 - o John Hunting and Sophia Gorham, Dyer-Ives Foundation
 - o James Kettler, DeWaters Charitable Trust
 - o William White, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation
 - o Russell Mawby and Leonard White, W.K. Kellogg Foundation
 - o Alfred Taylor, Kresge Foundation
 - o Charles White and Richard Bell, Fremont Area Foundation (Since renamed the Fremont Area Community Foundation)

- o Howard Kalleward, Kalamazoo Foundation (Since renamed the Kalamazoo Community Foundation)
- o Ray Kooi, Ford Motor Company Fund
- 1973: The first Conference of Michigan Foundations was held on March 6th and 7th at the Win Schuler's Marriott Inn in Ann Arbor, MI. This initial conference had 133 registrants [1973 Conference Program; 1973 Conference Annual Conference Registrants List].
- 1973: Sophia Gorham was named executive secretary of the Conference of Michigan Foundations, with Leonard White serving as chairman of the conference [1974 Conference Program].
- 1975: The Conference of Michigan Foundations reformed into a membership organization, the Council of Michigan Foundations (articles of incorporation were filed by the Michigan Department of Commerce on November 3rd, 1975). The organization was formed with 77 founding members [1975 Organizational Papers].
- 1975: On September 2nd, Sophia Gorham announced her resignation and Dorothy A. Johnson was appointed as executive secretary. Gilbert Hudson of the Hudson-Webber Foundation was named the first chair of the board for the Council of Michigan Foundations.

